mh-nexus
Blog Articles Programs

 

About Contact Forum

HxD - Freeware Hex Editor and Disk Editor


Mini screenshot of HxD hex editor and disk editor
Click to enlarge

HxD is a carefully designed and fast hex editor which, additionally to raw disk editing and modifying of main memory (RAM), handles files of any size.

The easy to use interface offers features such as searching and replacing, exporting, checksums/digests, insertion of byte patterns, a file shredder, concatenation or splitting of files, statistics and much more.

Editing works like in a text editor with a focus on a simple and task-oriented operation, as such functions were streamlined to hide differences that are purely technical.
For example, drives and memory are presented similar to a file and are shown as a whole, in contrast to a sector/region-limited view that cuts off data which potentially belongs together. Drives and memory can be edited the same way as a regular file including support for undo. In addition memory-sections define a foldable region and inaccessible sections are hidden by default.

Furthermore a lot of effort was put into making operations fast and efficient, instead of forcing you to use specialized functions for technical reasons or arbitrarily limiting file sizes. This includes a responsive interface and progress indicators for lengthy operations.

 

Features

 

Version 1.7.7.0 (April 3, 2009) What's new?
OS Windows 95, 98, ME, NT 4, 2000, XP, 2003, Vista, or 7
Download page

 

License

HxD is free of charge for private and commercial use. Selling HxD is not allowed. Distributing it as part of magazine addon CDs / DVDs / other media or putting it on download portals or private websites is allowed and welcome. For details, please see the HxD License.

What's new

Complete change log for HxD

Notes

Disk-Editor

To use the disk editor under Windows NT/2000/XP/2003/Vista/7 and higher you have to be an administrator or have the appropriate privileges.

Starting with Vista you need to manually unmount the hard disk to successfully write to it, or in other words: make sure the disk you edit has no mounted file system. More details in this forum thread. A system drive (the one where Windows is installed on) cannot be written to while Windows is running. In order to still accomplish that, you will have to execute HxD from a boot CD/DVD like PartBE or VistaPE and edit the system disk from there.

Windows NT 4

If the RAM-editor doesn't show any processes under Windows NT 4 you most likely don't have PSAPI.DLL installed on your system. You can get it from Microsoft (PSAPI.DLL Download) and copy the DLL into the %windir%\System directory.
HxD was only tested for Windows NT 4 SP 6, though it should work with versions prior to service pack 6.

Articles about HxD

Translators

Thanks to the translators, HxD is available in many languages.

More useful links

mh-nexus
Blog Artikel Programme

 

Impressum Kontakt Forum

HxD - Freeware Hex-Editor und Disk-Editor


Mini Bildschirmfoto von HxD Hex-Editor und Disk-Editor
Zum Vergrößern anklicken

HxD ist ein sorgfältig gestalteter und schneller Hex-Editor der, neben dem direkten Bearbeiten von Datenträgern und dem Verändern des Arbeitsspeichers (RAM), auch Dateien beliebiger Größe verarbeiten kann.

Die leicht zu bedienende Oberfläche bietet Funktionen wie Suchen und Ersetzen, Export in verschiedene Dateiformate, Prüfsummen/Digests, Einfügen von Byte-Mustern, einen Datei-Reißwolf, Zusammenfügen oder Aufspalten von Dateien, Statistiken und vieles mehr.

Das Bearbeiten funktioniert ähnlich wie in einem Text-Editor wobei auf einfache und problemorientierte Bedienung wertgelegt wurde, so dass Unterschiede, die rein technischer Natur sind, nicht erscheinen.
Zum Beispiel werden Datenträger und Arbeitsspeicher ähnlich einer Datei dargestellt und als Ganzes präsentiert, so dass zusammengehörige Daten nicht an Sektor- oder Speicherbereichsgrenzen getrennt werden. Datenträger und Arbeitsspeicher können auf die selbe Art und Weise wie eine normale Datei bearbeitet werden, einschließlich der Rückgängig-Funktion. Außerdem definieren Speicherabschnitte faltbare Bereiche, wobei die nicht zugewiesenen Abschnitte oder solche ohne Zugriffsrechte automatisch zusammengefaltet sind.

Weiterhin wurde viel Mühe investiert um Operationen schnell und effizient zu machen, anstatt, aus technischen Gründen, spezialisierte Funktionen aufzuzwingen oder Dateigrößen willkürlich zu beschränken. Dies bedeutet auch eine reaktive Oberfläche und Fortschrittsanzeigen während längerer Vorgänge.

 

Produkteigenschaften

 

Version 1.7.7.0 (3. April 2009) Was ist neu?
BS Windows 95, 98, ME, NT 4, 2000, XP, 2003, Vista oder 7
Download-Seite

 

Was ist neu?

Vollständige Änderungsliste für HxD (Englisch)

Anmerkungen

Disk-Editor

Um den Disk-Editor unter Windows NT/2000/XP/2003/Vista/7 und höher zu verwenden müssen Sie als Administrator angemeldet sein bzw. über die nötigen Rechte verfügen.

Ab Vista müssen Sie manuell Medien unmounten um auf diese schreiben zu können, oder anders formuliert: Sie müssen sicherstellen dass auf dem Medium das Sie beschreiben wollen kein Dateisystem gemountet ist. Mehr Details in folgendem Forumsfaden (Englisch). Ein Systemlaufwerk (also eines auf dem Windows installiert ist) kann nicht beschrieben werden währenddessen Windows läuft. Um dies trotzdem zu erreichen muss man HxD von einer Boot-CD/DVD wie PartBE oder VistaPE aus starten und von dort aus das Systemlaufwerk editieren.

Windows NT 4

Falls der RAM-Editor überhaupt keine Prozesse unter Windows NT 4 anzeigt, fehlt auf Ihrem System sehr wahrscheinlich die PSAPI.DLL. Sie können diese von Microsoft beziehen (PSAPI.DLL Download) und die DLL in das %windir%\System-Verzeichnis kopieren.
HxD wurde nur mit Windows NT 4 SP 6 getestet, trotzdem sollte es auch mit Versionen vor Service-Pack 6 funktionieren.

Artikel zu HxD

Weitere nützliche Links